Down The TBR Hole #4: Conquer your TBR

I saw the most AMAZING post from LOST IN A STORY with the most AMAZING idea to help cut down my ridiculously large TBR! Thank you so much for creating this post!!

THIS IS HOW IT WORKS: (straight from original post)

  • Go to your goodreads to-read shelf.
  • Order on ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or 10 if you’re feeling adventurous) books
  • Read the synopses of the books
  • Decide: keep it or should it go?

Every week I will be going through 10 books on my Goodreads TBR and purging as many as I feel comfortable with. Most likely these posts will go up on a Wednesday. Currently I have 300 to go through and this number is always being added to, so hopefully this will help a lot. Here are my next ten books!

THE BOOKS:

AFTER BY AMY EFAW

6338619.jpg

This book just isn’t on my radar anymore so I think you know what that means.

THE JUDGMENT: BYE

DARE ME BY MEGAN ABBOTT

12982393.jpg

I am still interested in this one, even after all the years I’ve added it.

THE JUDGMENT: KEEP

SECOND GLANCE BY JODI PICOULT

10911.jpg

Jodi is one of my favorite authors, so anything left on my TBR by her will definitely be read at some point.

THE JUDGMENT: KEEP

CONFESSIONS OF A MURDER SUSPECT BY JAMES PATTERSON

13521399.jpg

This one sounds OK, but I’m being cut throat here and saying see ya to the just OK books.

THE JUDGMENT: BYE

BOSSYPANTS BY TINA FEY

9418327.jpg

I do still want to read this book. I’m thinking maybe listening to it on audiobook during an upcoming readathon.

THE JUDGMENT: KEEP

ROOM BY EMMA DONOGHUE

7937843.jpg

I’m pulling most book readers hated moves and saying I saw the movie, loved it, and am not interested in reading the book anymore.

THE JUDGMENT: BYE

THE GATHERING BY KELLEY ARMSTRONG

7896345.jpg

I used to be really into these types of books, but I don’t see myself reading them, at least not anytime soon.

THE JUDGMENT: BYE

FALLING FOR YOU BY LISA SCHROEDER

13553217.jpg

After reading the synopsis, I just don’t feel as drawn to this book as when I added it.

THE JUDGMENT: BYE

EMPTY BY K.M. WALTON

13565858.jpg

I’m not in the mood for this one, and I don’t see the mood coming back for a while at least.

THE JUDGMENT: BYE

THE HOBBIT BY J.R.R. TOLKIEN

5907.jpg

I can’t say the want to read this one has ever slowed down. I’m not sure why I still have it on my TBR and not my read shelf yet.

THE JUDGMENT: KEEP

This week I chose to keep only 4/10 books. That’s 1 less book than last week!! Hopefully I can keep up this momentum.

If you like this idea please go to LOST IN A STORY’S blog post, show some love, and let her know you are joining in!!

SaveSave

22 thoughts on “Down The TBR Hole #4: Conquer your TBR

  1. I think I’m going to need to do this. I have 700+ books on my TBR list. I’m always super picky about getting rid of books but I think it’s time to crack down and get it down to a decent size. You’re so lucky yours is only at 300.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love reading these every week when you post them. πŸ™‚ I’m soooo glad you decided to keep The Hobbit, had a mini heart attack when I saw it and thought you might not keep it on your tbr lol. It’s brilliant!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ive listened to the hobbit but never read it, i did get given a beautiful hardback copy of it ages ago and i just never picked it up, i think was to young to appreciate it … maybe ill go and pick it up properly.. good post.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

