WEEKLY WEDNESDAY #15

IF YOU WOULD LIKE TO KNOW MORE ABOUT MY WEEKLY WEDNESDAY POSTS HERE IS WHERE I EXPLAIN THEM A BIT MORE: WEDNESDAY WEEKLY #1

AUDIOBOOK(S) READ

Toil & Trouble edited by Jessica Spotswood & Tess Sharpe (RB Digital which is a new app from my library)

36426163.jpg

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS

A young adult fiction anthology of 15 stories featuring contemporary, historical, and futuristic stories featuring witchy heroines who are diverse in race, class, sexuality, religion, geography, and era.

Are you a good witch or a bad witch?

Glinda the Good Witch. Elphaba the Wicked Witch. Willow. Sabrina. Gemma Doyle. The Mayfair Witches. Ursula the Sea Witch. Morgan le Fey. The three weird sisters from Macbeth.

History tells us women accused of witchcraft were often outsiders: educated, independent, unmarried, unwilling to fall in line with traditional societal expectations.

Bold. Powerful. Rebellious.

A bruja’s traditional love spell has unexpected results. A witch’s healing hands begin to take life instead of giving it when she ignores her attraction to a fellow witch. In a terrifying future, women are captured by a cabal of men crying witchcraft and the one true witch among them must fight to free them all. In a desolate past, three orphaned sisters prophesize for a murderous king. Somewhere in the present, a teen girl just wants to kiss a boy without causing a hurricane.

From good witches to bad witches, to witches who are a bit of both, this is an anthology of diverse witchy tales from a collection of diverse, feminist authors. The collective strength of women working together—magically or mundanely–has long frightened society, to the point that women’s rights are challenged, legislated against, and denied all over the world. Toil & Trouble delves deep into the truly diverse mythology of witchcraft from many cultures and feminist points of view, to create modern and unique tales of witchery that have yet to be explored.

AUDIOBOOK(S) READING

S.T.A.G.S by M.A. Bennet (borrowed from my library on overdrive)

35154365.jpg

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS

Nine students. Three bloodsports. One deadly weekend.

It is the autumn term and Greer MacDonald is struggling to settle into the sixth form at the exclusive St. Aidan the Great boarding school, known to its privileged pupils as S.T.A.G.S. Just when she despairs of making friends Greer receives a mysterious invitation with three words embossed upon on it: huntin’ shootin’ fishin’. When Greer learns that the invitation is to spend the half term weekend at the country manor of Henry de Warlencourt, the most popular and wealthy boy at S.T.A.G.S., she is as surprised as she is flattered.

But when Greer joins the other chosen few at the ancient and sprawling Longcross Hall, she realises that Henry’s parents are not at home; the only adults present are a cohort of eerily compliant servants. The students are at the mercy of their capricious host, and, over the next three days, as the three bloodsports – hunting, shooting and fishing – become increasingly dark and twisted, Greer comes to the horrifying realisation that those being hunted are not wild game, but the very misfits Henry has brought with him from school…

 

PHYSICAL BOOK(S) READ

NONE

 

PHYSICAL BOOK(S) READING

bridge of clay by Marcus Zusak (bought a signed copy from Barnes & Noble)

7767276.jpg

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS

The breathtaking story of five brothers who bring each other up in a world run by their own rules. As the Dunbar boys love and fight and learn to reckon with the adult world, they discover the moving secret behind their father’s disappearance.

At the center of the Dunbar family is Clay, a boy who will build a bridge—for his family, for his past, for greatness, for his sins, for a miracle.

The question is, how far is Clay willing to go? And how much can he overcome?

 

The Four Agreements by Miguel Ruiz (bought a box-set from Barnes & Noble)386482.jpg

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS

In The Four Agreements, bestselling author don Miguel Ruiz reveals the source of self-limiting beliefs that rob us of joy and create needless suffering. Based on ancient Toltec wisdom, The Four Agreements offer a powerful code of conduct that can rapidly transform our lives to a new experience of freedom, true happiness, and love.

•  A New York Times bestseller for over a decade
•  Over 6.5 million copies sold in the U.S.
•  Translated into 40 languages worldwide

“This book by don Miguel Ruiz, simple yet so powerful, has made a tremendous difference in how I think and act in every encounter.”  — Oprah Winfrey

“Don Miguel Ruiz’s book is a roadmap to enlightenment and freedom.”  — Deepak Chopra, Author, The Seven Spiritual Laws of Success

“An inspiring book with many great lessons.”  — Wayne Dyer, Author, Real Magic

“In the tradition of Castaneda, Ruiz distills essential Toltec wisdom, expressing with clarity and impeccability what it means for men and women to live as peaceful warriors in the modern world.”  — Dan Millman, Author, Way of the Peaceful Warrior

E-BOOK(S) READ

This Cruel Design by Emily Suvada (sent an eARC by the publisher for a blog tour)

38316465.jpg
GOODREADS SYNOPSIS:

Cat thought the Hydra epidemic was over, but when new cases pop up, Cat must team up with an enemy to fix the vaccine before the virus spirals out of control in this thrilling sequel to This Mortal Coil, which New York Times bestselling author Amie Kaufman says “redefines ‘unputdownable.’”

The nightmare of the outbreak is finally over, but Cat’s fight has only just begun.

Exhausted, wounded, and reeling from revelations that have shaken her to her core, Cat is at a breaking point. Camped in the woods with Cole and Leoben, she’s working day and night, desperate to find a way to stop Lachlan’s plan to reprogram humanity. But she’s failing—Cat can’t even control her newly regrown panel, and try as she might to ignore them, she keeps seeing glitching visions from her past everywhere she turns.

When news arrives that the Hydra virus might not be as dead as they’d thought, the group is pushed into an uneasy alliance with Cartaxus to hunt down Lachlan and fix the vaccine. Their search takes them to Entropia, a city of genehackers hidden deep in the desert that could also hold the answers about Cat’s past that she’s been searching for.

But when confronted with lies and betrayals, Cat is forced to question everything she knows and everyone she trusts. And while Lachlan is always two steps ahead, the biggest threat to Cat may be the secrets buried in her own mind.

E-BOOK(S) READING

Any Second by Kevin Emerson (eARC from Netgalley)

38885432.jpg
GOODREADS SYNOPSIS:

Five years after being kidnapped, Elian’s captor sends him into the mall–with a bomb strapped to his chest.

Across the mall is Maya, a girl whose crippling anxiety holds her prisoner in its own way.

Whether it’s chance or fate, Maya keeps Eli from ending them all. And now nothing is the same. Drawn together by their dark pasts, Maya and Eli know it takes only seconds for their entire worlds to change. But time will tell if meeting each other will change them for better or worse.

 

BOOKS ADDED TO MY COLLECTION

  1. THE MYSTERY OF BLACK HOLLOW LANE BY JULIA NOBEL (NETGALLEY)
  2. RAFE RYDER AND THE WELL OF WISDOM BY L.L. REYNOLDS (NETGALLEY)
  3. THE SUSPECT BY FIONA BARTON (NETGALLEY)
  4. IN THE DARK BY CARA HUNTER (EDELWEISS)
  5. MY LOVELY WIFE BY SAMANTHA DOWNING (EDELWEISS)
  6. THE LAST WOMAN IN THE FOREST BY DIANE LES BECQUETS (FIRSTTOREAD.COM)
  7. THE HIDING PLACE BY CJ TUDOR (NETGALLEY)
  8. BRIDGE OF CLAY BY MARCUS ZUSAK (BOUGHT A SIGNED COPY AT B&N)
  9. OATHBRINGER BY BRANDON SANDERSON (BOUGHT A COPY AT B&N)
  10. THE COLDEST GIRL IN COLD TOWN BY HOLLY BLACK (BOUGHT A COPY AT MY LOCAL USED BOOK STORE)

21 thoughts on “WEEKLY WEDNESDAY #15

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s