BOOK REVIEW: THE LAST ROMANTICS BY TARA CONKLIN

35068465.jpgThe Last Romantics by Tara Conklin

Published February 5, 2019

Hardcover, 384 pages

MY GOODREADS RATING 4/5 STARS

(Thanks to Edelweiss & Harper Collins, I received an eARC)

 

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS:

The New York Times bestselling author of The House Girl explores the lives of four siblings in this ambitious and absorbing novel in the vein of Commonwealth and The Interestings.

“The greatest works of poetry, what makes each of us a poet, are the stories we tell about ourselves. We create them out of family and blood and friends and love and hate and what we’ve read and watched and witnessed. Longing and regret, illness, broken bones, broken hearts, achievements, money won and lost, palm readings and visions. We tell these stories until we believe them.”

When the renowned poet Fiona Skinner is asked about the inspiration behind her iconic work, The Love Poem, she tells her audience a story about her family and a betrayal that reverberates through time.

It begins in a big yellow house with a funeral, an iron poker, and a brief variation forever known as the Pause: a free and feral summer in a middle-class Connecticut town. Caught between the predictable life they once led and an uncertain future that stretches before them, the Skinner siblings—fierce Renee, sensitive Caroline, golden boy Joe and watchful Fiona—emerge from the Pause staunchly loyal and deeply connected.  Two decades later, the siblings find themselves once again confronted with a family crisis that tests the strength of these bonds and forces them to question the life choices they’ve made and ask what, exactly, they will do for love.

A sweeping yet intimate epic about one American family, The Last Romantics is an unforgettable exploration of the ties that bind us together, the responsibilities we embrace and the duties we resent, and how we can lose—and sometimes rescue—the ones we love. A novel that pierces the heart and lingers in the mind, it is also a beautiful meditation on the power of stories—how they navigate us through difficult times, help us understand the past, and point the way toward our future.

 

MY THOUGHTS:

I’m a huge fan of the fact the this book changes perspectives between this family, that I grew to love and care about. Each perspective was so different and gorgeously written. I loved seeing the growth of each of the characters we follow throughout the years. Another cool aspect is that it was told far in the future 2079 at some points.

This book has every type of love possible and was really heartwarming. I enjoyed reading about the romantic relationships throughout, but more so about the family relationships. I was so beautiful to see how each relationship grew.

My only problem is that I waited so long to read it! It was hard to put down once I finally picked it up. The ending of the book just made the whole experience worth every second of my life I spent on this one.

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: THE LAST ROMANTICS BY TARA CONKLIN

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s