BOOK REVIEW: YOURS TRULY BY ABBY JIMENEZ

Yours Truly by Abby Jimenez

Published: April 11, 2023

(Thanks to Forever (Grand Central Publishing) & Netgalley, I received an eARC)

Paperback, 416 pages

Goodreads Rating: 4.74/5

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS:

A novel of terrible first impressions, hilarious second chances, and the joy in finding your perfect match.

Dr. Briana Ortiz’s life is seriously flatlining. Her divorce is just about finalized, her brother’s running out of time to find a kidney donor, and that promotion she wants? Oh, that’s probably going to the new man-doctor who’s already registering eighty-friggin’-seven on Briana’s “pain in my ass” scale. But just when all systems are set to hate, Dr. Jacob Maddox completely flips the game . . . by sending Briana a letter. 

And it’s a really good letter. Like the kind that proves that Jacob isn’t actually Satan. Worse, he might be this fantastically funny and subversively likeable guy who’s terrible at first impressions. Because suddenly he and Bri are exchanging letters, sharing lunch dates in her “sob closet,” and discussing the merits of freakishly tiny horses. But when Jacob decides to give Briana the best gift imaginable—a kidney for her brother—she wonders just how she can resist this quietly sexy new doctor . . . especially when he calls in a favor she can’t refuse.

MY THOUGHTS:

I have heard nothing but wonderful things about this book and once it won Book of the Month’s Book of the Year I knew it was time to get to it. At first I thought I was getting myself into an episode of Greys Anatomy, it started with some drama, it was set in a hospital and the main character’s seemed like a good time.

I loved reading from both Briana and Jacob’s points of view. Jacob’s anxiety was a pretty major factor in the story and the author portrayed it very realistically. Briana was a real go getter and would do almost anything to get what she thought she deserved. I thought they evened each other out pretty well.

I found this an adorable read that made my heart melt. I love that it had a lot to do with anxiety, because I could relate to it more. Overall I would highly recommend this book to lovers of romance, or those trying to get into the genre.

Leave a comment