BOOK REVIEW: THE LAST STRAW BY ED DUNCAN

36671089.jpgThe Last Straw by Ed Duncan

Published November 25, 2017

Paperback, 227 pages

MY GOODREADS RATING 4.5/5 STARS

(Thanks to the author and his publicist, I received a copy of this book to review)

 

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS:

When a teenage girl witnesses a carjacking gone bad, she is marked for death by a crime boss with no apparent motive. A black lawyer and a white enforcer with an unlikely history forge an uneasy alliance to protect the girl from a hit man with an agenda of his own.

After they find out that the crime boss is the father of the black teenage carjacker, Paul Elliott – lawyer and close friend of the witness’s family – begins counseling them.

As the long-simmering feud between Rico and John D’Angelo reaches boiling point, bodies start to pile up in rapid succession… and old scores will be settled.

MY THOUGHTS:

I was extremely excited when the author’s publicist reached out to ask if I would like to review Ed’s second book in his Pigeon-Blood Red series after giving me the opportunity to review the first in the series. I highly enjoyed his first, so I couldn’t wait to see what the second in this series had to offer. I was not disappointed, I just really like Ed’s writing style and story telling abilities. I actually like this one a bit more than the first, which says a lot.

I love when characters reappear in a series while seamlessly introducing the reader to new characters. I’m so happy that Rico and Paul-Elliot are both back in this twisty, nicely paced story. I found this book even more fast paced than the first, without being hard to follow. I love when books have multiple plot lines that all revert back to each other like this one did. If I had to pick a favorite character it would have to be Paul, he was so protective over his girlfriend Evelyn (also in the first novel) that my heart was just so happy he was there for her emotionally.

I found this story a bit predictable at times, but it wasn’t bothersome to me. I am definitely planning on continuing this series, because the author did such a great job of keeping my engaged throughout both books. If you are looking for a fast-paced, realistic criminal novel look no further, this is the book for you.

39 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: THE LAST STRAW BY ED DUNCAN

  1. I tend to shy away from books like this, especially in Crime novels which are the second or third in a “detective” season. I’d hate to miss any back story from the previous book/s, even if they can be read as standalones. Great review, as always!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment